S5 Box

Login Form

Members' Registration

The Annual EMPA Awards for Excellence in Emergency Communication have been established to recognise those who have made a significant contribution to emergency communications in Australia and New Zealand.

Australian awards were presented at the EMPA Conference Dinner in Melbourne on Monday, 4 June 2018.

New Zealand awards will be presented at the EMPA Conference Dinner in Wellington on Monday, 20 August 2018.



      1. For emergency communication-Readiness & Resilience:
             a. A project or activity that contributes to improved community resilience and preparedness.

        2.  For emergency communication-Response and Recovery:
             a. Communicating effectively during an emergency response; or
             b. Supporting the recovery of a community impacted by an emergency.

        3.  For published research that advances emergency communication by:
             a. Improving community resilience and preparedness; or
             b. Increasing the effectiveness of communication during an emergency response; or
             c. Enabling agencies to better support communities recovering from an adverse event.

        4.  For media:
             a. In-depth and balanced coverage of a topic that increases public understanding of a hazard or an
                 emergency response.
             b. Comprehensive and accurate reporting before or during an emergency response, contributing to public

180205A 020S2


The EMPA Awards are open to:

  • all who make an active contribution to emergency management in Australia or New Zealand in any capacity provided that their activity is directly associated with communication / public information.

  • students, tutors or teaching staff in any accredited tertiary institution, whose research is directly related to emergency management in Australia or New Zealand.

  • journalists, including freelancers, who report on hazards and/or emergency responses in Australia or New Zealand.

  • individuals and teams are eligible for nomination.

EMPA Awards entry criteria

 Why enter?

        1. The Awards are about recognising success. Enter the Awards to acknowledge your team and their work.  

        2. Use the submission process to profile your operational practices and understand what ‘worked’ to create that success.

        3. Benchmark your performance against the industry best.

        4. Benefit from the exposure generated by the Awards to boost your profile.

        5. Use the prestige of winning an award in your marketing and collateral to further promote your organisation’s credibility.

        6. A rewarding experience for your staff to know that they are part of a winning team.

        7. Nominate your staff for individual awards to recognise their personal success and achievements.



Applications for the EMPA New Zealand Conference have been EXTENDED. To apply please click the button below.

EMPA NZ Award Application

~ Applications close FRIDAY 27 JULY 2018  ~


 2017 New Zealand EMPA Award Winners

  • EMPA Award for Excellence in Emergency Communication - Kaikoura EOC PIM team
  • EMPA Award for Excellence in Readiness and Resilience -  WREMO
  • EMPA Award for Excellence in Readiness and Resilience - Emergency Management Bay of Plenty
  • EMPA Award for Excellence in Media Coverage - Chris Lynch, Newstalk ZB
  • EMPA Award for Excellence in Innovation in Public CommunicationsBrian FM


100 0511




Chris Lynch