Emergency Media and Public Affairs
Emergency Media and Public Affairs

Emergency Media and Public Affairs

About Us - Structure

EMPA is a registered not-for-profit company that is home to two committees, the EMPA Conference committee and the EMPA Knowledge and Development Centre.

Members of these committees are from state and federal government departments and agencies, business including public relations consultancies and universities.

The EMPA conference is a limited guarantee company that supports the EMPA conference organising committee. 

EMPA Board

  • Peter Rekers (CEO)
  • Catherine Matheson (Director)
  • Anne Leadbeater (Director)
  • Michele Poole (Director)

Australian Conference Committee

  • Anne Leadbeater (Chair)
  • Natalie Staarks (Member)
  • Peter Rekers (Member)

Knowledge and Development Centre

  • Rebecca Riggs (Co-Chair)
  • Lee Cowan (Co-Chair)

New Zealand Conference Committee

  • Michele Poole, QLDC (Chair)
  • Glyn Walters, ACC (Member)
  • Karl Ferguson, ACC (Member)
  • Bridget Cheesman, MCDEM (Member)
  • Lee Cowan, HCC (Member and NZ Research Committee Chair)
  • Peter Rekers, EMPA (Member)

EMPA runs annual conferences to share experience and knowledge amongst crisis communicators.



1062/18 Manning St, Milton QLD 4064 E info@empa.org.au
© Emergency Media and Public Affairs | All rights reserved